top of page
VSED- Voluntarily Stopping Eating and Drinking
VSED- Voluntarily Stopping Eating and Drinking

VSED- Voluntarily Stopping Eating and Drinking

When and how we die may be out of our control, but there are some choices we have at the end of life that are not well-known. What is VSED? 5pm PST/ 6pm MST/ 7pm CST/ 8pm EST.

Registration is Closed
See other events

Time & Location

Nov 02, 2022, 7:00 PM – 8:00 PM CDT

Online Zoom Gathering

About the Event

At the end of life, some people are simply ready to die. When someone's readiness is not in sync with their body's readiness, what options are there? We have discussed Medical Aid in Dying (MAID) and End of Life Option Act (EOLOA), but there is another option: VSED, or Voluntarily Stopping Eating and Drinking. At the end of life, food and liquids are eventually too much work for the body to process, and hunger and thirst naturally decrease without having to make a conscious choice to slow down or stop altogether. What happens when someone capable of making their own choices elects to stop eating and drinking entirely? Is this "allowed"? What does it feel like? What does it look like? Would you support a loved one making this choice? Does this sound like something you might consider yourself? 

Register for access to an optional article and the Zoom link for our gathering. Please note the date and time zone.

5pm PST/ 6pm MST/ 7pm CST/ 8pm EST.

How to participate:

1. Choose an option below. 

2. Once registered, you will receive a confirmation email with a link to the week's resources as well as the Zoom link for the meeting.  

***NOTE: Both the subject and 'sender' of the email confirmation will be "VSED- Voluntarily Stopping Eating and Drinking"***

3. Arrive a few minutes early to ensure all technology is working properly. 

Join the Circle

  • I can give $10

    $10.00
  • I can give $15

    $15.00
  • I can give $20

    $20.00
  • I can give $25

    $25.00

Total

$0.00

Share This Event

bottom of page