top of page
The Body Keeps the Score
The Body Keeps the Score

The Body Keeps the Score

We might think we have forgotten, but the body remembers... 5pm PST/ 6pm MST/ 7pm CST/ 8pm EST.

Registration is Closed
See other events

Time & Location

Jan 10, 2024, 7:00 PM – 8:00 PM CST

Online Zoom Gathering

About the Event

Every human experiences a range of events, feelings, situations. You might think you have forgotten a difficult situation, but "forgive and forget" isn't really how it works: the body remembers. Bessel van der Kolk, psycholgoist and author of the renowned book "The Body Keeps the Score" discusses the various ways the body holds on to memories. I've seen this at the end of life: experiences that have not been processed and worked through come up in surprising and sometimes painful ways. They highlight for me the importance of awareness and willingness to work through hard things throughout our lifetime.

This week, we discuss the concept and theory of the body keeping the score. This is often used as the framework for trauma work, and we might also play around with extending that to a variety of experiences outside of trauma. This week the article included in registration is optional as always, but highly encouraged. And while we might use personal examples as a way to understand with each other, we will keep the focus of the discussion on the concept itself. 

Register for an optional (yet encouraged) article and the Zoom link to join. 

Please note: I am not a therapist and do not do work that specializes in trauma. This will be a discussion that is conceptual and theoretical; it will not be a discussion in which we dig in to our own personal traumas. This is not a time or space of group therapy; if conversation begins to slant in that direction, I will kindly and firmly redirect.  

PLEASE READ:

1. To participate, choose an option below. 

2. Once registered, you will receive a confirmation email with resources and Zoom links. Check your junk mail!!

***NOTE: Both the subject and 'sender' of the email confirmation will be "The Body Keeps the Score"***

3. I am unable to assist with technology issues or lost links once the discussion starts, so please arrive at least a few minutes early and contact me if there are any issues. Once we start, I give my full attention to the discussion.

Join the Circle

  • I can give $25

    $25.00
  • I can give $20

    $20.00
  • I can give $10

    $10.00
  • I can give $15

    $15.00

Total

$0.00

Share This Event

bottom of page