top of page
Diagnosis: Grief
Diagnosis: Grief

Diagnosis: Grief

What happens when we pathologize grief? 5pm PST/ 6pm MST/ 7pm CST/ 8pm EST.

Registration is Closed
See other events

Time & Location

Oct 19, 2022, 7:00 PM – 8:00 PM

Online Zoom Gathering

About the Event

In March of 2022, The American Psychiatric Association added "Prolonged Grief Disorder (PGD)" to the DSM, the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. As with all diagnoses listed in the DSM, criteria are listed for someone to be diagnosed with a given disorder, in this case with symptoms such as 'avoidance of the reminders of loss' or 'intense loneliness'. Adding a diagnosis to the DSM can bring greater awareness to challenges faced by people who may have historically felt misunderstood or been underserved for experiences of suffering. Including diagnoses can also serve as a guide to clinicians and help bring understanding to 'conditions'. However, some 'conditions' that were previously pathologized include homosexuality and premenstrual syndrome, with widespread belief that something was wrong with individuals who identified as homosexual or those who experienced premenstrual symptoms. What are potential risks of pathologizing grief?

Register for access to the Zoom link for our gathering. Please note the date and time zone.

5pm PST/ 6pm MST/ 7pm CST/ 8pm EST.

How to participate:

1. Choose an option below. 

2. Once registered, you will receive a confirmation email with a link to the week's resources as well as the Zoom link for the meeting.  

***NOTE: Both the subject and 'sender' of the email confirmation will be "Diagnosis: Grief"***

3. Arrive a few minutes early to ensure all technology is working properly. 

Join the Circle

  • I can give $10

    $10.00
  • I can give $15

    $15.00
  • I can give $20

    $20.00
  • I can give $25

    $25.00

Total

$0.00

Share This Event

bottom of page