top of page
Unmet Expectations
Unmet Expectations

Unmet Expectations

Francis Weller's Fourth Gate of Grief is: What we expected but did not receive. This week, we step through this gate and explore how unmet expectations can lead to grief.

Registration is Closed
See other events

Time & Location

Oct 05, 2022, 7:00 PM – 8:00 PM CDT

Online Zoom Gathering

About the Event

In Francis Weller's book "The Wild Edge of Sorrow", he mentions five gates of grief. (You can read about all five here: https://www.melodywright.com/blog/a-brief-introduction-to-the-five-gates-of-grief). These are 'types' of grief that we experience in our lifetime as humans, invitations to explore, experience, and acknowledge. In previous discussions, we have discussed these gates, with group interest in investigating each gate in more depth. 

This week, a response to this expressed interest, we explore the fourth gate of grief: What we expected but did not receive. Author Francis Weller does not refer to the car that we expected would run perfectly for 5 years but required maintenance after 6 months, though this is an example to start with. This gate refers to deeper expectations: for example, being born into a community of support and unconditional love but not receiving it. As it is with other grief discussions, this might sound like a bummer. Yet this discussion time is an opportunity to identify, name, and acknowledge something we may not realize has impacted us. Shedding light on the unseen gives us the further opportunity to explore, and then let go or integrate.

Register for access to an article that begins the deep dive as well as the Zoom link for our gathering. Please note the date and time zone.

5pm PST/ 6pm MST/ 7pm CST/ 8pm EST.

How to participate:

1. Choose an option below. 

2. Once registered, you will receive a confirmation email with a link to the week's resources as well as the Zoom link for the meeting.  

***NOTE: Both the subject and 'sender' of the email confirmation will be "Unmet Expectations"***

3. Arrive a few minutes early to ensure all technology is working properly. 

Join the Circle

  • I can give $10

    $10.00
  • I can give $15

    $15.00
  • I can give $20

    $20.00
  • I can give $25

    $25.00

Total

$0.00

Share This Event

bottom of page