top of page
The After-Plan
The After-Plan

The After-Plan

How might planning for the time immediately following a death bring more meaning and support to the dying experience? 5pm PST/ 6pm MST/ 7pm CST/ 8pm EST.

Time & Location

Jul 24, 2024, 7:00 PM – 8:00 PM CDT

Online Zoom Gathering

About the Event

In the recently screened documentary, "The Last Ecstatic Days", the featured young man, Ethan Sisser, and his support circle created a plan. The detailed plan was written on a White Board (dry-erase board) and laid out for everyone what they were to do immediately following the moment Ethan stopped breathing. First step: silence for one hour. Next: call hospice and the death doulas, position his body in this way, and provide after-care for his body in that way.

When someone dies and people gather around the person and the room, there can be a sense of weightlessness, of groundlessness. All this build up, all this lead up to a moment, and the moment has arrived: this profound moment wherein someone who was alive no longer is. A moment ago, they were breathing. Now they are not. The people in the room might feel the buzzing of all emotions all at once. The focus and intent is clear: support the dying person. Now what? Where to focus? What to do? How to be? 

Some religions and cultures have rituals or traditions that give the circle of support some traction- a thing to do or not do, a place to go, something to hold. Depending on one's beliefs and values, these rituals can ground those who are still living or facilitate and support the process of passing for the dead. Giving the living instructions for what to do can be immensely helpful in the time after death. 

What would you put on your White Board? Who would the instructions be for? 

Register for the Zoom link to join. 

Note our next Sunset Circle: August 21. September will bring us back to weekly gatherings.

 

PLEASE READ:

1. To participate, choose an option below. 

2. Once registered, you will receive a confirmation email with resources and Zoom links. Check your junk mail!!

***NOTE: Both the subject and 'sender' of the email confirmation will be "The After-Plan"***

3. I am unable to assist with technology issues or lost links once the discussion starts, so please arrive at least a few minutes early and contact me if there are any issues. Once we start, I give my full attention to the discussion.

Join the Circle

  • I can give $10

    $10.00
  • I can give $15

    $15.00
  • I can give $25

    $25.00
  • I can give $20

    $20.00

Total

$0.00

Share This Event

bottom of page