top of page
Memory Villages
Memory Villages

Memory Villages

A realized dream for compassionate care for people with dementia. 5pm PST/ 6pm MST/ 7pm CST/ 8pm EST.

Registration is Closed
See other events

Time & Location

Feb 15, 2023, 7:00 PM – 8:00 PM CST

Online Zoom Gathering

About the Event

Short-term, long-term, autobiographical, sensory. There are many types of memory. As time goes on, certain types of memory begin to fade for most, sometimes more dramatically and harshly than for others. Numbers vary by source, but different kinds of dementia effect over 7 million people in the U.S. and over 700,000 in Canada, projected to increase. Providing care and support for people with dementia can be unquestionably difficult in many ways, as memory plays an essential role in independence, autonomy, personality, and identity. Without a predictable path for memory loss, at any given time, determining the best environment for safe long term care while also maintaining independence, dignity, and identity can be challenging. Enter Hogewey, a village in Norway, and Village Landais, in France, designed for people with dementia to live safely, contentedly, and freely. Designed with the intention to ‘do things better’ than existing housing and care models, Hogewey includes a grocery store that accepts real and not-real currency, a pub, a theater, and social opportunities. Dementia is a real and reasonable fear for many. This week, we look at an environment that provides hope for dignified care.

Register for access to an optional video and article about the Villages and an examination of what various living settings offer or do not. Please note the date and time zone.

5pm PST/ 6pm MST/ 7pm CST/ 8pm EST.

How to participate:

1. Choose an option below. 

2. Once registered, you will receive a confirmation email with a link to the week's resources as well as the Zoom link for the meeting.  

***NOTE: Both the subject and 'sender' of the email confirmation will be "The Memory Village"***

3. Arrive a few minutes early to ensure all technology is working properly. 

Join the Circle

  • I can give $10

    $10.00
  • I can give $15

    $15.00
  • I can give $20

    $20.00
  • I can give $25

    $25.00

Total

$0.00

Share This Event

bottom of page