top of page
Memento Mori
Memento Mori

Memento Mori

"Remember you must die". 5pm PST/ 6pm MST/ 7pm CST/ 8pm EST.

Registration is Closed
See other events

Time & Location

Feb 01, 2023, 7:00 PM – 8:00 PM CST

Online Zoom Gathering

About the Event

‘Memento Mori’ essentially translates to: “Remember you must die”. Remembering our mortality is integrated into many cultures, philosophies, practices, and rituals worldwide. In Western culture, which generally views death as a taboo topic, a regular reminder of death might be perceived as morbid, or “characterized by an unusual interest in disturbing and unpleasant subjects, especially death and disease” (Oxford Dictionary). But is it truly unusual- or 'morbid'- to regularly contemplate one's mortality? 

We can look at different examples of this remembering throughout history and the world. In the Buddhist practice, death awareness, or maransati, is essential, considered by some to be the most important practice. The stoic Marcus Aurelius said, “Think of yourself as dead. You have lived your life. Now take what’s left and live it properly.” (Meditations VII.56). It is said that ancient Romans had a slave next to them in battle, whose sole responsibility it was to recite “Memento Mori” to remind the soldier that one could die at any moment. What is your response to this idea? Perhaps seeing an email from “Life at Sunset” feels like enough of a fleeting reminder that the end of life is out there, and out there is close enough for now, thankyouverymuch. How might a regular reminder of mortality be helpful to you? What can you use- a token, a note, an image- that would serve as your reminder?

Register for access to an optional article and the Zoom link for our gathering. Please note the date and time zone.

5pm PST/ 6pm MST/ 7pm CST/ 8pm EST.

How to participate:

1. Choose an option below. 

2. Once registered, you will receive a confirmation email with a link to the week's resources as well as the Zoom link for the meeting.  

***NOTE: Both the subject and 'sender' of the email confirmation will be "Memento Mori"***

3. Arrive a few minutes early to ensure all technology is working properly. 

Join the Circle

  • I can give $10

    $10.00
  • I can give $15

    $15.00
  • I can give $20

    $20.00
  • I can give $25

    $25.00

Total

$0.00

Share This Event

bottom of page