top of page
Gerontology and Elderhood
Gerontology and Elderhood

Gerontology and Elderhood

What is gerontology? Why does it matter? 5pm PST/ 6pm MST/ 7pm CST/ 8pm EST.

Registration is Closed
See other events

Time & Location

May 03, 2023, 7:00 PM – 8:00 PM CDT

Online Zoom Gathering

About the Event

In order to understand Elderhood, we must understand aging and how it is viewed, approached, and 'treated' in our culture (wrinkles?? Gasp- no! But elephants make them look good, so why shouldn't we?). Aging at one point in time was actually viewed as a disease in and of itself (!). How has aging been defined and treated historically in medicine and society, and how does this impact us today? By failing to acknowledge differences in age groups, we risk mis-identifying each one’s unique needs, desires, risks, and benefits. (For example, blood pressure medications have different effects in a young adult compared to an elder). Gerontology is a growing interdisciplinary approach to caring for the social, medical, and psychological needs of older people in an effort to promote quality of life and well-being. (Geriatrics are specifically medically-focused). What does a focus on health rather than medicine do for patients? How can we integrate this understanding into our own care to advocate for ourselves and those we care for?

Register for the Zoom link and an optional 13-minute video about the differences between gerontology and geriatrics.

How to participate:

1. Choose an option below. 

2. Once registered, you will receive a confirmation email with a link to the week's resources as well as the Zoom link for the meeting.  

***NOTE: Both the subject and 'sender' of the email confirmation will be "Gerontology and Elderhood"***

3. Arrive a few minutes early to ensure all technology is working properly. 

Join the Circle

  • I can give $10

    $10.00
  • I can give $15

    $15.00
  • I can give $20

    $20.00
  • I can give $25

    $25.00

Total

$0.00

Share This Event

bottom of page