top of page
Capitalism, Commodities, and Death
Capitalism, Commodities, and Death

Capitalism, Commodities, and Death

What happens when economic systems shape decisions about death? What happens when death and the dying process are commodified? 5pm PST/ 6pm MST/ 7pm CST/ 8pm EST.

Registration is Closed
See other events

Time & Location

Apr 12, 2023, 7:00 PM – 8:00 PM CDT

Online Zoom Gathering

About the Event

Death and dying occur within the context of systems. Today, capitalism and the healthcare system are examples of systems, and they are inextricably connected. Numbers - oftentimes prices - are what fuel many healthcare decisions and policies, greatly impacting life and death matters. 

Importantly, and in a similar vein: in a market economy, supply and demand regulate the economy. Now, an aging population is growing in longevity, size, and complexity: the demand for services at the end of life increasing. The supply of clinicians is simultaneously decreasing. How might this impact the end-of-life process in terms of quantity and quality of care? 

This week, we examine capitalism, market economy, supply and demand, and competition and we consider what happens when death and dying are commodified. What is important for us to be aware of while existing within these systems?

Register for the Zoom link.

5pm PST/ 6pm MST/ 7pm CST/ 8pm EST.

How to participate:

1. Choose an option below. 

2. Once registered, you will receive a confirmation email with a link to the week's resources as well as the Zoom link for the meeting.  

***NOTE: Both the subject and 'sender' of the email confirmation will be "Capitalism, Commodities, and Death?"***

3. Arrive a few minutes early to ensure all technology is working properly. 

Join the Circle

  • I can give $10

    $10.00
  • I can give $15

    $15.00
  • I can give $20

    $20.00
  • I can give $25

    $25.00

Total

$0.00

Share This Event

bottom of page