top of page
Ageism
Ageism

Ageism

How is discrimination based on age harmful in elderhood? What is ageism? 5pm PST/ 6pm MST/ 7pm CST/ 8pm EST.

Registration is Closed
See other events

Time & Location

May 10, 2023, 7:00 PM – 8:00 PM CDT

Online Zoom Gathering

About the Event

My dear friend’s mother has contributed greatly to her field at a world-renowned university. She retired from her former role at the university but is still involved in some on-campus goings on. After a recent day on campus she noted, “The students on campus have no idea who I am. It’s like I’m invisible now”. What started was a conversation about feeling (and being) ignored based on age. 

U.S. Physician Robert Butler, who coined the term, describes ageism as: "a process of systematic stereotyping of and discrimination against people because they are old, just as racism and sexism accomplish this with skin color and gender." He continues: "Aging... is the neglected stepchild of the human life cycle. Though we have begun to examine... death, we have leaped over that long period of time preceding death known as old age".* 

We see a negative attitude towards aging everywhere- ‘anti-aging’ serums, exercises that claim to reverse the aging process, expressions of despair with the first sign of gray hair- as if something so natural must be avoided at all costs. The ubiquitous messaging has far-reaching effects in the job market, the doctor's office, and day-to-day interactions. Have you witnessed examples of ageism? How can our awareness of this ‘-ism’ be helpful? How can we challenge it?

Register for the Zoom link and an optional article that outlines ageism and why we should pay attention to it.

*Aronson, L. (2019). Elderhood: Redefining aging, transforming medicine, reimagining life. Bloomsbury Publishing USA. 

How to participate:

1. Choose an option below. 

2. Once registered, you will receive a confirmation email with a link to the week's resources as well as the Zoom link for the meeting. Save the email for easy access to the Zoom link.

***NOTE: Both the subject and 'sender' of the email confirmation will be "Ageism"***

3. Arrive a few minutes early to ensure all technology is working properly. I sign on 10 minutes early and am generally unable to assist with last-minute log-in issues once we have started.

Join the Circle

  • I can give $10

    $10.00
  • I can give $15

    $15.00
  • I can give $20

    $20.00
  • I can give $25

    $25.00

Total

$0.00

Share This Event

bottom of page