top of page
A Death Meditation
A Death Meditation

A Death Meditation

How does a death meditation... not be terrifying, but actually beneficial? Come try it. 5pm PST/ 6pm MST/ 7pm CST/ 8pm EST.

Registration is Closed
See other events

Time & Location

Mar 01, 2023, 7:00 PM – 8:00 PM CST

Online Zoom Gathering

About the Event

As we have learned with the exploration of “memento mori”, there are many traditions and practices from around the world that include the constant reminder and practice of death. The Buddhist tradition believes that death awareness meditation, or Maranasati, is an essential practice. What can we discover when we ‘practice’ death? What does this even mean? This week, we will dive into the practice with a 20-minute meditation (led by me) and discussion to follow. Please note that this is a practice that stems from a philosophy, not a religion. This is a safe place, and all efforts will be made to ensure that people feel grounded and ready to try something new. (And no, you don't have to sit like the person in the picture).

Please also note: this is a meditation that, while foundational for some Buddhist lineages, it can also be intense. If you tend towards dissociation, are currently working through trauma, or feeling psychologically unsteady or ungrounded, it is probably a good idea to sit this one out and stick with learning about the practice from a theoretical standpoint for now. This is not meant to scare anyone away, just to err on the side of caution. If you are uncertain or have questions, please email me!

Register for access to an optional reading. 

Please note the date and time zone.

5pm PST/ 6pm MST/ 7pm CST/ 8pm EST.

How to participate:

1. Choose an option below. 

2. Once registered, you will receive a confirmation email with a link to the week's resources as well as the Zoom link for the meeting.  

***NOTE: Both the subject and 'sender' of the email confirmation will be "A Death Meditation"***

3. Arrive a few minutes early to ensure all technology is working properly. 

Join the Circle

  • I can give $10

    $10.00
  • I can give $15

    $15.00
  • I can give $20

    $20.00
  • I can give $25

    $25.00

Total

$0.00

Share This Event

bottom of page